Why 10,000 Pages?

For the last two years I have committed to and managed to read 52 books a year. You can find those books reviewed at MY52books.com 52 books a year was a great exercise and I am glad I did it. I thank Mark and Ron for putting up with my reviews for the last two years and hope to guest post over there from time to time if they will let me. This year I’m going to try a new reading experiment. Over the last two years I found myself reading a few large books at the beginning of the year and then choosing shorter and shorter books to keep up the pace. This year, I’m changing my strategy. Instead of setting a goal of how many books I will read, I am setting a goal to read 10,000 pages. Why 10,000? I averaged out the amount of pages in the 52 books I read last year and they came to about 10,000. So as you can see, although I will probably not read 52 books this year, I will be reading the same amount of pages. The hope is that this strategy will allow me to more freely and wisely choose what I read based not on the size of the book, but the content. Whether I am successful with this experiment or if it explodes in my face, I hope you are encouraged to read more, entertained, and edified by observing it. Thanks for being along on the journey. If you are looking for reasons and ways to increase your reading this year I recommend to you this excellent post by my friend Ron Coia: Thirteen Ways To Read More in 2013

Leave a comment